The Revelation Project Part III: Juli Mancini


Juli Mancini is one of the most creative, articulate, and generous people I know. Juli’s beauty is wild and untamed, and the clarity in her eyes coupled with her open and direct communication style just enhances it.  She’s always in touch with where she is at emotionally, and loves connecting with people at the heart level.  Having studied and worked on the West Coast she’s carried that warmth to New England and has spread it’s rays to all who have had the pleasure of meeting her. Mother of two, artist, photographer, writer, entrepreneur, the photographs and interview can tell you the rest.

MR: What did you think about the approach of the upcoming photo shoot (before you got there) and what were the results you were expecting?

juli: I am usually the one behind the lens so the idea of actually having timeless documentation of beautiful photos of myself was refreshing.  I didn’t know exactly what to expect but love productions and female gatherings of any kind so my spirits were lifted before I walked through the door.

MR: How did you feel during the shoot and was there anything in particular that made you feel more or less relaxed or open to the process?

juli: For me personally, being photographed by women, disengages a sensor that might otherwise be present.  This changes the finished product as a result creating a softer, truer and essential depiction.


MR: Can you describe in three words the way you felt before we shot?

juli: Thrilled, hopeful, that indescribable Christmas morning feeling.

MR:  Three words for after ?

juli: Anticipation, empowered, beautiful

MR: Three words for when you saw the results

Juli: Disbelief, elation, lifted

MR: After you left but before you saw the results – did you have any thoughts about the experience?  What were some of the things you thought about on the drive home?

juli: I thought, what a brilliant idea!  If every woman considered this a necessity instead of a luxury, the world would be a different place.

MR: When you saw the results can you tell me your first impression?

juli: Pure love of the photographs but also of the many gifts presented in these photos.  I was reintroduced to myself through a photograph.  I also experienced a profound bond with and respect for Robyn and Monica.


MR: Can you talk about the feedback you received from those who saw your photographs?

juli: The most common remark was that my essence was captured in the photos. Others commented on how beautiful I am and how gifted Robyn and Monica are.

MR: Did you feel beautiful during the shoot? why? why not?

juli: Yes…well I took the opportunity to pull out my Anthropologie clothing and my Pamela Tuohy Jewelry which I save for special occasions.  Monica helped with hair and make-up which has not been a priority in my daily life for some time and all eyes and lenses were on me.  How marvelous!

MR: Did you feel empowered? why?  Why not?

juli: Absolutely…because I felt worthy.


MR: Since the shoot happened almost two weeks ago now can you talk about the lasting impact of the experience?  Has it altered the way you view yourself or your surroundings?

juli: Yes. As a mom going through a separation, it’s easy to put my needs last in a long line of to do lists while feeling worn down.  These photos reminded me that I am already the person that I want to become.  She’s in there and we are now getting reacquainted.  Having a love affair actually!

MR:  Do you think this was an important/valuable experience for yourself? why?

juli: I do…because, like many other women, I have lost my way on this path in life.  I have replaced my needs with those of family and lost myself along the way. I needed a reminder and these images presented just that.  They are a reminder of my exuberance, vitality and passion.  It conveys beautifully.  You can see it in the eyes.

MR: Do you think it’s relevant for other women?  why?

juli: I think if a woman is open to the many gifts inherent in this project, then yes.  A woman who values herself and this process enough will make the investment…that is the woman who will experience lasting change as a result.


MR:  How would you use the photos moving forward? Professionally? Personally? as gifts?

juli: As a visual person, I only need to close my eyes to review them which is where they have made the most impact.  I may use them to promote my business ventures down the road.  When I move into a place which I can call my own, I will brand the walls with the photos, you know, proudly mark my territory.  I will enjoy that!

MR: If you could sum up the experience what would you say?

Juli: This experience was illuminating. The concept is brilliant and Robyn and Monica approach the project with such passion and intent.  For them, it’s not just about turning a job, it’s about pursuit of deeper meaning in self, partner and subject.  That intent makes the project work and work well.  You see it in the photos and I felt it during the shoot.  We all connected with compassion, hope and excitement for what could be and for what gems may be hidden. I will be forever grateful for the Revelation Project and these talented women with the vision to unearth our wildness and essence.

2 thoughts on “The Revelation Project Part III: Juli Mancini

  1. As evident in every shot above, Juli is a true beauty inside and out. The photographs eloquently capture emotion, and that is a special gift. If Robyn and Monica were local, I’d schedule my own shoot. Womanhood needs to be embraced and celebrated by all!

Leave a Reply

