Can I have a Cookie?


My son is a challenge.

I love him dearly and he challenges me to the very core of my being.

He is Six.

The other night I decided to win the battle and lose the war. Ever done that?  It was brilliant of course,  and so I am here to share it with you.

It was 9:30 at night.  I’d gotten home from seeing an inspirational film called Wise Women Speak and had left the kids with their favorite sitter (Mistake #1)

She is there favorite sitter why? hmmm…. I’ll let you guess.

They were not asleep and the 8:00 pm lights out bedtime I had specifically set had been overlooked and when I went upstairs my children thought it would be cute and funny if they were “hiding in my covers” and so I let them think it was cute and gave them each hugs ( Mistake #2)

and then they asked if they could please please sleep in my bed since it’s a king and they just want to “snuggle with me” and I said YES ( Mistake #3)

Except that I was not yet “ready” to go to bed and so told them they could fall asleep in my bed as long as they were quiet and IF I had to come back up to tell them to go to sleep all bets were off and back in their bed they would go.

Mistake # 4, 5, 6, 7,  8, 9 & 10, came next when I went downstairs to finish my tea and read starting with an almost immediate visit from my daughter to say “Mom- he’s kicking me and won’t be on his side of the bed”

I went up and told him to get in his own bed.

He said “no.”

I said “Yes.”

He said “NO!”

I dragged him there.

He screamed.

LOUD.

I covered his mouth.

He thrashed.

I held on.

He thrashed more.

Do you see where this is going?

= NOWHERE.

It was 10:45 before I finally got him quiet and calm and so I thought… asleep and I was rocking him in exhaustion wondering- what the hell just happened? and ” I am a terrible mother” and ” This incident must have made a huge impression on him that “when I say something I mean business” when his little head popped off my chest and he politely asked….

“Can I please have a cookie?”

 

4 thoughts on “Can I have a Cookie?

Leave a Reply

