She Combed Her Hair With A Wagon Wheel


Singing is big in my house.

My kids seem to find songs for just about everything or make them up depending on what they are doing… brushing teeth, peeing, eating…you name it.

“get my socks, get my socks…. I’d rather just collect some rocks….” (singsong voice)

Sometimes it drives me a little nuts and I just want to yell “ENOUGH with the SINGING!” and sometimes I do which becomes:

“Enough with the singing, enough with the singing… better be quiet cuz yer ears’ll be ringing…”

but then I realize that this is exactly what I should not do… because they are being creative, and playful, and in many cases learning to perform what I call intuitive duets….

Like this morning for instance… what about this little ditty that they go around singing from room to room pretty much over and over and over.  One will sing one verse and then the other will sing the next until it’s at the end and then they both chime in…. they do it unconsciously – one can be playing in one room and the other child kind of just inserts his or her part.  This morning I really listened to the words and thought…. where in THE WORLD did they learn this god awful song? and so I asked my daughter…..

“Mr Edwards” she replied. – So much for the wholesomeness of Little House on the Prairie…

Old Dan Tucker was a mighty man,
And he used to ride a big old ram,
And he pulled by his mane,
And he pulled by his tail,
And he spurred him up with his big toenail.

Get out the way for Old Dan Tucker,
Come too late to get his supper.

Old Miss Tucker was big and fat;
Her face was black as my old hat,
And her eyes stuck out and her nose stuck in,
And her underlip hangs over her chin.
Get out the way for Old Dan Tucker,
Comes too late to get his supper.

Old Dan Tucker was a mighty man,
And he whipped his wife with a frying pan.
He combed his hair with a wagon wheel,
And he died with a toothache in his heel.

Get out the way for Old Dan Tucker,
Come too late to get his supper.

Old Dan Tucker, he got drunk,
And he fell in the fire and he kicked up a chunk,
And a red-hot coal got in his shoe,
And oh, my golly, how his shirttail flew.

Get out the way for Old Dan Tucker,
Come too late to get his supper

2 thoughts on “She Combed Her Hair With A Wagon Wheel

  1. My kids love Old Dan Tucker. The first time I heard them sing it…they misunderstood the lyric and called him Old Man *ucker. Tanzie was innocent enough but Macie was giggling in the background as her sister continued to sing the song with passion.

Leave a Reply

