Mom… just let go.


She asked me for a make-up case for Christmas.

“What on earth for?” I asked her.
“For make-up” she said. ( ask a stupid question…)
“Yes, but you don’t NEED any make-up! You are only 9 years old!”
“I never said I NEED make-up- I just like make-up!”
“oh” I said – unsure of how to proceed with this conversation.
She takes my face into her little tiny hands with great care and tenderness and looks deeply into my eyes:

“Mommy… at some point you are just going to have to “let go” of the fact that I won’t be your little girl forever”.

*Sniff, *Choke, *Gag, *Giggle.

No. THAT will never happen.

2 thoughts on “Mom… just let go.

Leave a Reply

