Mom Can I get a Guinea Pig?


her: “Mom? Can we get a guinea pig?”

me: “aaaah, no.”

her: “Why not? we’ve never haaaad a guinea pig!”

Me: ” But you have had a dog, 2 cats, 2 bunnies, and goldfish”

her: “yes, but that’s different”

me: “What’s different about it is that mommy will have one more animal to care for”

her: “WHAT?!!!! I TAKE VERY GOOD CARE OF MY ANIMALS – I PET THEM AND I LOVE THEM!”

me: “Yes, but you don’t pay for them, clean up after them or pick up their poop.”

her: “Well YOU never asked me to!”

me: “Ok, I’m asking. I’ll tell you what – you can start cleaning out the cat litter box”

Huffily- “FINE”.

Response: “FINE”.

Next Morning she walks into the laundry room….

her: “UGH! What’s that smell?”

me: “litter box.”

her: “That’s disgusting!”

me:  “yep,…clean it.”

(I can’t EVEN describe the look on her face)

her: “I think i was overtired last night when we were talking about guinea pigs and i’m not sure I was thinking clearly and feel that I don’t need one anymore- I’m happy with the animals we have”

me:  heh.heh.heh.

Leave a Reply

